Maslow's Motivation Theory Of Hierarchy Of Needs

Maslow’s Hierarchy Of Needs

 [ click on the image to enlarge it]


According to Maslow, the above pyramid illustrates the needs of the workers.

In brief, they are simply divided into the following factors:

The PHYSICAL factor:

· A person starts at the bottom of the hierarchy (pyramid) and will initially seek to satisfy basic needs (e.g. food, shelter)

· Once these physiological needs have been satisfied, they are no longer a motivator. the individual moves up to the next level

The SECURITY factor:

· Safety needs at work could include physical safety (e.g. protective clothing) as well as protection against unemployment, loss of income through sickness etc)

The SOCIAL factor: 

· Social needs recognise that most people want to belong to a group. These would include the need for love and belonging (e.g. working with colleague who support you at work, teamwork, communication)

The EGO factor:

· Esteem needs are about being given recognition for a job well done. They reflect the fact that many people seek the esteem and respect of others. A promotion at work might achieve this



· Self-actualisation is about how people think about themselves – this is often measured by the extent of success and/or challenge at work 





Importance Of Understanding Maslow’s Hierarchy Of Needs:

In an organization, if Management able to understand at which level of needs their workforce/staff are in, then, they can decide on the relevant rewards/incentive to motivate the workforce.


Click here to go to ALL articles under heading of Motivation & Theories

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.